A few days ago, on Brother Wade Burleson’s blog, I came across this excellent example of explicating the Bible. For our purposes, please focus your reading at Brother Wade’s heading: Key Principles of Accurate and Effective Exegesis.

It doesn’t matter to me whether you agree or disagree with Brother Wade’s conclusions about the meaning of I Timothy 2. 9-15. Nor does it matter to me what your thoughts about women in professional ministry are. What I’d like for us to notice is the methods Brother Wade uses to arrive at his conclusions. In particular, I think Brother Wade does a great job with his four step approach to explaining Bible passages. Brother Wade does an outstanding job of giving a solid example to my previous 4 entries on this blog.

I also direct you to Brother Wade’s example to underscore the next issue I hope to take up. How is it that two people can read the same text, use the same methods and arrive at such wildly different conclusions? If you want to look at the comments to Brother Wade’s blog entry, you will see several people arriving at the opposite conclusion based on the same six verses.

In my next few entries, I’m going to address different outcomes from the same text and a few cautions for the reader in explaining the Bible to his own satisfaction. Thanks for reading.

